Happiness, A Short Thought

After reading a blog post by redplace, http://thethickersense.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/heres-a-thought/, I realized how much happiness plays in our lives.

No, I don’t mean the actual emotion, but perhaps just the thought of it. The thought of happiness, that one blissful thought, seems to have been overstretched in its usage. I, being a student at an at least semi-regular sort of middle school, see hundreds of happy faces throughout my day. The giggles and uproars of laughter that almost always seem to surround perverted objects, the constant smiles and joking pouts; they all seem to be happy. Even as their grades appear as a taut steel wire about to break within their minds, their facile faces always seem to light-hearted and ridiculously cheerful. I sense that it is even getting stressful to always act happy, which I recognize and know from personal experience, but still their facades wear on.

But we do not need to be happy 100% of the time while we’re at school, and happy only 10% – the number continuously gets lower- of the time while we’re either sleeping or absorbing ourselves into mindless activities where we can ignore the world. Our society keeps cramming the image of happiness down our throats, however. Those sweet (and also repugnant) stories that we read when we were little, where everybody falls in love, becomes rich, and gets a happy ending? They have bred a generation of kids who continuously try to find that image of happiness that lays within the folds of that book, but never are able to find it within their own lives, because they are not yet of the age where they can actually achieve those things – and few are able to recognize the happiness that their family brings them. And it’s not just the books; movies, tv shows, books, and even our parents keep cramming down the need to be continuously happy, and that money and love is the key to attaining them. When we’re sad or depressed, our parents complain and misunderstand (in other’s opinions). They have effectively forced us to create the illusion to both ourselves and the general public that we are happy when, after the slightest examination, we are truly not. They have falsified happiness.

It’s okay to be sad, and depressed. It’s a natural process within life, and we all are bound to experience it. We need to take care not to fall into its abyss, but still must we let it affect us. Recently, I lost all ambition for my life ahead. Being stuck up with homework to late hours, I began to feel that there was this menial process that we kept going through. That we had to wake up every single day, memorize soon to be forgotten facts, do homework upon those almost forgotten facts, and then sleep and forget them. I was frustrated, and lost the (natural) urge to do any work at all. At one point, I contemplated the thought of barring my bedroom door and refusing to attend school, for it was nothing more than another wasted day. Going through this period, however, allowed me to recognize that I needed to reconfigure my priorities and do something that would spin me out of the unfortunate loop. Though I am still sleepy even in the brightest corner of the day, I am now able to persevere and continue on my amassing of information, thoughts, and new ideas. Of sections of personality undeveloped and newly found. I am able to not wear the mask that would otherwise choke me to death upon its stale embrace. Because I have gone through sadness, I am now able to become happy.

About bravetheheat

One trying to find out more, about anything (that is otherwise deduced as interesting to me). View all posts by bravetheheat

Leave a comment